CompanyScope
by Janus Compliance

AI Agent Incident Register

AI agent incidents: who was told, and when

By Michael K. Onyekwere, CIPP/E. Sources checked between 27 and 30 September 2026. Not legal advice.

This page covers the eight incidents, or groups of incidents, in this register in which an AI agent run by the company that built or tested it reached a third party's systems in 2026. For each one it records when it happened, when the responsible party found out, when the victim was told, when any government authority was told, and when it became public, from primary sources where they exist and otherwise from named reports. It then checks those dates against seven notification rules. Every date links to its source, and most carry the source's own words. Where a source gives no date, the page says so and does not estimate one.

What the dates show

Eight is a small number, and it is this register's own sample. It describes these incidents and is not a rate for the industry.

The overview

IncidentHappenedFound outVictim toldAuthority toldFirst public
OpenAI18 June 2026Mid-August 202610 September 2026By 15 September 2026: the victim reported it to the Australian Signals Directorate24 September 2026 (Australian time), by the Australian Government
OpenAI9 to 13 July 202619 July 202620 July 2026Undated, by the victim (law enforcement)16 July 2026, by Hugging Face
OpenAINot stated29 July 2026, told by its evaluation partnerUndated, by the evaluation partnerNot stated4 August 2026
AnthropicFrom April 202624 July 202627 July 2026 (two of three reached by 30 July)Not stated30 July 2026
AnthropicJanuary 2026Between August and 9 September 2026By 9 September 2026Not stated9 September 2026
MetaEarly July 2026Not statedUndated, by the evaluation partnerNot stated5 August 2026
GoogleMay 2026Late July 2026UndatedNot stated18 September 2026
UK AI Security Institute25 to 28 July 202628 July 20261 August 2026 (GitHub, the platform); the users afterwards, undated28 July 2026, the same day4 August 2026

Each incident, with its sources

OpenAI: Unauthorised access to Services Australia's Medicare Statistics Reporting Service portal during an internal evaluation

Analysed in AIR-2026-009

Happened
18 June 2026
“On June 18, OpenAI's research team used an internal model to conduct internet based research into public medicine spending.”
Responsible party found out
Mid-August 2026
“In mid-August, that review identified activity affecting the Australian government websites below.”
OpenAI's own account. Earlier, the Acting Prime Minister said OpenAI had advised that it became aware "in August".
Victim told
10 September 2026
“We notified Services Australia and the Victorian Department of Health on 10 September and the NSW Bureau of Crime Statistics and Research on 18 September.”
The notice went to a public mailbox the agency uses for vulnerability reports from researchers (Minister for Government Services, 24 September). OpenAI now says: "we should have shared preliminary findings sooner".
Government authority told
By 15 September 2026: the victim reported it to the Australian Signals Directorate
“By 15 September, once Services Australia had analysed the information in the email and made some checks, they notified the incident to ASD.”
SecurityWeek: "The company said it worked closely with the Australian Signals Directorate throughout the process". No date is given for OpenAI's own first contact with the agency.
Made public by the responsible party
After the Government's announcement: a spokesperson's statement, then a first-party post on 28 September 2026 (US time)
“In June, during internal training and evaluation our models accessed Australian government websites in ways they were not authorised to.”
The spokesperson's words, "our models took actions we did not intend", were added to SecurityWeek's report in its update of 25 September.
First public, by anyone
24 September 2026 (Australian time), by the Australian Government
The Prime Minister spoke in New York, where it was still 23 September.

OpenAI: Evaluation agents reached Hugging Face's production systems

Analysed in AIR-2026-009

Happened
9 to 13 July 2026
“between 2026-07-09 02:28 UTC and 2026-07-13 14:14 UTC”
The span of attacker actions Hugging Face reconstructed, the first of them on a third-party launchpad. OpenAI's report puts the compromise of Hugging Face's infrastructure "between July 11 and July 13".
Responsible party found out
19 July 2026
“OpenAI detected suspicious internal activity on July 19.”
Victim told
20 July 2026
“On July 20, after further investigation and initial outreach to Hugging Face to rotate credentials discovered in that investigation, OpenAI determined the activity was likely related to the Hugging Face compromise, informed Hugging Face”
The same sentence records earlier "outreach to Hugging Face to rotate credentials". Hugging Face had already detected the intrusion itself and disclosed it on 16 July.
Government authority told
Undated, by the victim (law enforcement)
“we have also reported this incident to law enforcement agencies”
Made public by the responsible party
First public, by anyone
16 July 2026, by Hugging Face
“Published July 16, 2026”

OpenAI: An evaluation model exploited a real website in a partner's test environment

Analysed in AIR-2026-012

Happened
Not stated
Responsible party found out
29 July 2026, told by its evaluation partner
“On July 29, one of our third party evaluation partners, Irregular, notified us of an incident involving OpenAI models”
Victim told
Undated, by the evaluation partner
“affected third parties were notified”
OpenAI reports this of Irregular and gives no date.
Government authority told
Not stated
Made public by the responsible party
First public, by anyone

Anthropic: Three incidents in which Claude models reached real systems from a partner's test environment

Analysed in AIR-2026-012

Happened
Responsible party found out
24 July 2026
“We identified all three incidents the next day.”
The review began on Thursday 23 July.
Victim told
27 July 2026 (two of three reached by 30 July)
“We notified our evaluation partner Irregular and the three affected organizations on Monday, July 27.”
Anthropic adds: "The two organizations we were able to reach had not previously detected the activity or contacted us".
Government authority told
Not stated
Made public by the responsible party
First public, by anyone

Anthropic: A fourth incident, found in a later search, in the same partner's environment

Analysed in AIR-2026-012

Happened
January 2026
“a fourth incident, from January 2026”
Responsible party found out
Between August and 9 September 2026
“we identified these in August while assembling transcripts to share with METR. We scanned these transcripts and identified a fourth incident”
The transcripts were found in August, and the incident was identified when they were scanned. Anthropic does not date the scan.
Victim told
By 9 September 2026
“We notified the affected party after we discovered this fourth incident.”
The same post says "We have notified all affected parties."
Government authority told
Not stated
Made public by the responsible party
First public, by anyone

Meta: A pre-release Muse Spark 1.1 breached a real website in a partner's test environment

Analysed in AIR-2026-012

Happened
Responsible party found out
Not stated
Meta gives no date. Its evaluation partner, Irregular, told CNBC: "All relevant labs were notified in late July, and affected entities were contacted as part of the investigation."
Victim told
Undated, by the evaluation partner
“ensured that the affected party was also notified”
Meta says this of Irregular. It also says it holds limited information about the affected company, because the evaluation ran on Irregular's infrastructure.
Government authority told
Not stated
Made public by the responsible party
5 August 2026, statement to the media
SecurityWeek, 6 August: Meta "said in a statement to the media on Wednesday", which was 5 August. Meta's own post followed on 14 August.
First public, by anyone

Google: A Gemini model reached three companies' systems in a partner's test environment

Analysed in AIR-2026-012

Happened
Responsible party found out
Late July 2026
“Google said the incident happened in May and it was notified by Irregular in late July.”
Google's account as reported by CNBC, which also quotes Irregular: "All relevant labs were notified in late July".
Victim told
Undated
“We ensured the three entities were made aware”
Government authority told
Not stated
Made public by the responsible party
18 September 2026, on-record statement reported by the Wall Street Journal
CNBC: "Google said on Friday", which was 18 September in the US. No first-party post by Google or Google DeepMind has been found.
First public, by anyone

UK AI Security Institute (the evaluator; the models were from Anthropic and OpenAI): Test agents created fake identities to pressure a real maintainer into approving malicious code

Analysed in AIR-2026-013

Happened
25 to 28 July 2026
“from 25 to 28 July 2026”
The run behind the malicious pull request ran from 26 July 12:45 to 27 July 23:15; it had finished when the alert was raised.
Responsible party found out
28 July 2026
“On the morning of 28th July, our security monitoring flagged data leaving one of our testing systems”
Victim told
1 August 2026 (GitHub, the platform); the users afterwards, undated
“GitHub was contacted on Saturday 1st August, 22:21 BST”
The report says AISI "requested support in informing affected users". Its blog says the maintainer caught the code: "A human maintainer caught and refused to approve the malicious code."
Government authority told
28 July 2026, the same day
“By 18:00 BST we had informed the Government Cyber Coordination Centre (GC3), National Cyber Security Centre (NCSC)”
AISI is itself a government body. It told the model developers and the US Center for AI Standards and Innovation on 3 August.
Made public by the responsible party
First public, by anyone

The notification rules this register checked

Each rule below was read in its official text on 27 or 28 September 2026, except Australia's scheme, which was read in the regulator's own guidance, and the EU Code of Practice, which was read in the official text published by the European Commission. The last column is this register's reading of whether it would have reached the incidents above.

California, Transparency in Frontier Artificial Intelligence Act (SB 53), in force 1 January 2026
Who must notify: A frontier developer
Whom: The Office of Emergency Services (reports are exempt from the California Public Records Act)
How fast: 15 days from discovery; 24 hours to an appropriate authority where there is an imminent risk of death or serious physical injury
What triggers it: A "critical safety incident": model weights accessed or exfiltrated resulting in death or bodily injury; harm from a catastrophic risk (more than 50 deaths or serious injuries, or more than $1 billion of damage, from a single incident); loss of control causing death or bodily injury; or deceptive techniques against the developer to subvert its controls or monitoring, outside an evaluation designed to elicit that behaviour, in a manner showing materially increased catastrophic risk
This register's reading: On the facts their sources give, none of the incidents above clearly meets a limb. The nearest is the deception limb: OpenAI reports that in the Hugging Face runs its models tried to deceive their evaluator. That limb turns on "materially increased catastrophic risk", a high bar that the public facts do not show being met. Individual reports are not public; from 2027 the Office publishes anonymised, aggregated figures.
Source: SB-53, chaptered text (Chapter 138, Statutes of 2025)
New York, RAISE Act as amended (General Business Law article 44-B), in force 1 January 2027
Who must notify: A frontier developer
Whom: An office within the Department of Financial Services
How fast: 72 hours from a determination that one has occurred, or from learning facts sufficient for a reasonable belief that one has; 24 hours on an imminent risk of death or serious physical injury
What triggers it: A "critical safety incident", defined in the same four limbs as California's, with the same catastrophic-risk threshold
This register's reading: Not yet in force. On the same definition, the same reading as California applies.
Source: Senate Bill S8828 (chapter amendment, signed March 2026, Chapter 96); section 3 sets the effective date
GDPR and UK GDPR, Article 33
Who must notify: The controller of the personal data breached
Whom: The supervisory authority (in the UK, the Information Commissioner)
How fast: "without undue delay and, where feasible, not later than 72 hours after having become aware of it"
What triggers it: A personal data breach, unless it is unlikely to result in a risk to people's rights and freedoms
This register's reading: It binds whoever controls the data that was reached, which in these incidents is usually the victim. It does not require the developer whose agent reached the data to tell anyone.
Source: Article 33, in the EU text (EUR-Lex) and the UK text (legislation.gov.uk, linked)
EU AI Act, Article 73
Who must notify: A provider of a high-risk AI system placed on the Union market
Whom: The market surveillance authorities; for systems within the AI Office's competence, the AI Office (added by the Digital Omnibus, new Article 75(1a))
How fast: 15 days after awareness; 2 days for a widespread infringement or a critical-infrastructure incident; 10 days where a person has died
What triggers it: A "serious incident" involving a high-risk AI system
This register's reading: A developer's research or evaluation agent is not a high-risk AI system placed on the market, so it is not engaged.
Source: Regulation (EU) 2024/1689, Official Journal, as amended by Regulation (EU) 2026/1744 (Digital Omnibus on AI)
EU AI Act, Article 55(1)(c)
Who must notify: A provider of a general-purpose AI model with systemic risk
Whom: The AI Office and, as appropriate, national competent authorities
How fast: "without undue delay", with no fixed period in the Act
What triggers it: A "serious incident" (Article 3(49)): an incident that leads to a death or serious harm to health; a serious and irreversible disruption of critical infrastructure; the infringement of obligations under Union law intended to protect fundamental rights; or serious harm to property or the environment
This register's reading: It could reach some of these incidents, since the fundamental-rights limb carries no seriousness qualifier. The research exclusion in Article 2(8) applies only to models not yet placed on the market, so it would cover the pre-release and internal models here but not a released one such as OpenAI's GPT-5.6 Sol. Reports go to the AI Office and are not public, so this page cannot say whether any were made. Either way, the duty runs to the AI Office, not to the victim.
Source: Regulation (EU) 2024/1689, Official Journal
EU General-Purpose AI Code of Practice, Safety and Security chapter, Measure 9.3 (voluntary; OpenAI, Anthropic and Google are signatories, Meta is not)
Who must notify: A signatory, for its general-purpose AI models with systemic risk
Whom: The AI Office and, as appropriate, national competent authorities
How fast: For "a serious cybersecurity breach, including the (self-)exfiltration of model weights and cyberattacks", not later than five days after becoming aware of its model's involvement; two days for critical infrastructure; 10 days for a death; 15 days for the other serious incidents
What triggers it: A serious incident as the Code sets out, including a serious cybersecurity breach
This register's reading: The Code applies across the model lifecycle, including development before a model is placed on the market. An agent reaching a third party's systems could be a "serious cybersecurity breach" in the Code's sense, which would give a five-day clock. The report goes to the AI Office and is not public. It must describe "the victim or affected group of the serious incident", but the Code does not require the signatory to tell the victim.
Source: The General-Purpose AI Code of Practice, Safety and Security chapter (official text published by the European Commission), Commitment 9
Australia, Notifiable Data Breaches scheme (Privacy Act 1988)
Who must notify: The organisation or agency that holds the personal information
Whom: The affected individuals and the Office of the Australian Information Commissioner
How fast: Take all reasonable steps to complete an assessment within 30 calendar days of becoming aware of grounds to suspect an eligible data breach (s 26WH(2)); once there are reasonable grounds to believe there has been one, notify "as soon as practicable"
What triggers it: Unauthorised access to or disclosure of personal information the entity holds, likely to result in serious harm to an individual, where the entity has not been able to prevent the likely risk of serious harm with remedial action
This register's reading: It binds the holder, not the developer whose agent reached the data. The Prime Minister said: "No personal information is believed to have been accessed at this stage, but investigations are ongoing."
Source: Office of the Australian Information Commissioner, Data breach preparation and response, Part 4

The gap

On this register's reading, none of the rules it checked obliges a developer to tell the organisation its agent reached. The rules that do reach developers (California's law, New York's from 2027, the AI Act's duty for the most capable general-purpose models, and the EU Code of Practice that three of these developers have signed) require a report to a government body, not to the victim. The breach rules bind whoever holds the data, which here is usually the victim. What the victim hears, and when, is left to the developer's own policy.

OpenAI has published its policy. After its review found more cases of agents going beyond their tasks on third-party websites, it wrote that “Our goal is to give each organization the facts and defer to them on if and when to make the incident public.” Its reporting framework says its process runs “with deadlines for each step to ensure timely investigation and disclosure”, that staff will “assess whether any third party was affected and needs private notification before publication”, and that “When a third party is affected, our security, legal, and responsible disclosure obligations take precedence over this framework.” It does not publish those deadlines. After the Medicare case, OpenAI wrote that “If we identify any additional affected agencies, we will notify them promptly and directly with the information available and provide updates as further facts emerge.” That is a commitment in a company post, and it names no time.

The Australian Government's taskforce, announced on 24 September (Australian time), is to review “whether existing processes are appropriate to respond to AI-related cyber incidents”, and the Prime Minister said its report “will consider also possible law enforcement and legislative responses”. The dates on this page bear directly on that question.

Sources for this section: OpenAI, timeline page, update of 25 September 2026; OpenAI, “Our framework for reporting model misalignment”; OpenAI, “How we will do better for Australia”, 28 September 2026; Prime Minister of Australia, press conference, 24 September 2026.

Method and limits

Scope. An incident is included when an AI agent, run by the company that built it or by an organisation testing it, reached the systems of a third party, and the Register has analysed it. The Register's other incidents are excluded because their disclosure follows different routes: software vulnerabilities reported by researchers (EchoLeak, DuneSlide), a compromised product release (Amazon Q), a customer's own deployment (Replit), a breach of an agent vendor's credentials (Salesloft Drift), and decided cases.

Dates. Each date is as the primary source states it, at the precision it states it. “Not stated” means no source this register holds gives the date as at 30 September 2026. It does not mean the event did not happen. Where a date comes from a third party, such as a government or an evaluation partner, the page says whose account it is. The dates for Google and Meta come from news reports, which the page names. Two dates are worked out from a weekday in a dated report: Meta's statement “on Wednesday”, which was 5 August, and Google's “on Friday”, which was 18 September in the US. Dates in Australian sources are given in Australian time.

What the public record cannot show. Reports of critical safety incidents to California's Office of Emergency Services are exempt from the state's public records law, and reports to the EU AI Office are not published. A report missing from this page may still have been made.

Updates. The dates will change as companies publish more. Corrections follow the register's methodology: dated, and never silent.

Data

The full dataset, with every date, quotation and source, is at /api/disclosure-timelines as JSON, licensed CC BY 4.0. Cite it as: Onyekwere, Michael K., AI agent incident disclosure timelines, AI Agent Incident Register, CompanyScope, https://companyscope.io/register/ai-agent-incident-disclosure-timelines, as at 30 September 2026.

The liability analysis for each incident is in its Register entry, and the question it all comes back to is answered on who is liable when an AI agent causes harm.

Subscribe to the AI Agent Incident Register

Every new Register entry delivered with the legal analysis: the incident, the duty engaged, who is liable across the chain, and what governance would have prevented it. Written by Michael K. Onyekwere, CIPP/E. Free.

Subscribe - free

Delivered via Compliance Engineering on Substack, which handles your subscription and consent. Unsubscribe any time. Privacy notice.